Facebook Page Changes Today

Posted: March 29, 2012 in Marketing, Social Media
Tags: , ,

(EDITOR’S NOTE: This was supposed to post tomorrow, March 30, which is actually the day the change takes place.  I had my posting scheduling off by one day, though, so you’re actually getting this a day early.  :-( )

Changing your Facebook Page to the new timeline view is no longer a choice.  As of today, all pages should be using the new view.  Some features have gone bye bye and some new ones are now available. 

I switched over my page for Painted Black a while ago and so far my only complaint is that when someone besides me posts to the page, it gets condensed into a little window with everyone else’s and does not display prominently at all.  See the image to the right which I copied from New Libri’s site.

I posted to the help line as did several others asking if there is any way to fix this but so far I’ve not seen a response.

Here are a few links to tell you more about what to expect.

Here is Facebook’s official Help page about the new view.  I would start here if you’re trying to understand how to make the most of your new page.



Here’s an article about how the new changes might affect how you use it for promotion.


If you use your Facebook page to track how much traffic you’re getting, here is a cautionary article about how the new view might affect your numbers.



Here are some links to articles on what the changes mean to you specifically as an author. 




There’s even a Facebook Page set up as a place to vent your complaints about the Facebook Page.


  1. dborys says:

    Here’s another great site I just ran across today. And just a reminder that TODAY, actually today March 30, is when the change takes place.


The Questions and Comments:

