Amazon’s Answer To Apple’s Terms

Posted: August 14, 2011 in e-Publishing, Links
Tags: , ,

My sister is the one who warned me about Amazon’s change to the way you download books using Kindle apps.  She has an iPhone.  I was thinking the Android might not be affected by the change, but when my phone recently updated, I see that the Kindle app updated as well, and seems to be directing me to the Amazon website when I want to buy/download new books, so I guess Android was not immune.  But here’s a new twist.

A few weeks ago, after Apple began enforcing the new iOS terms, one eBook reader, Kobo, came out and said that they would work on a web app to bypass the restrictions. But again, others like Amazon and Barnes & Noble remained mum, and changed their apps to remove links to their stores. Turns out, Amazon was quietly doing the same thing. And now it’s ready to go. And it’s very good.

via Amazon’s Answer To Apple’s Terms: A Web-Based Kindle Cloud Reader — Brilliant On PC, Better On iPad | TechCrunch.

The Questions and Comments:

