Twitter Tuesdays

Posted: June 11, 2011 in Marketing, Social Media
Tags:

Hashtags are a way categorize a tweet, almost like giving it a “tag” or “label”. So if more than one person is tweeting about a certain subject, they can create a hashtag (or see what hashtag others are using for that topic) so all those tweets can be grouped together.

via What the Heck is a Hashtag? – Social Moms: the influential moms network.

AND

#Amwriting is an award-winning Twitter hashtag created by Johanna Harness.  Recipient of the 2010 Christopher Al-Aswad Prize, #amwriting is known as a community that breaks down boundaries between writers.

via Amwriting FAQ – Johanna’s big thoughts

One of the promotional things I am doing is trying to become familiar with the ins and outs of Social Media–what is helpful, what’s a waste of my time, etc.  Twitter has been much harder for me to understand, so I have come up with the idea of Twitter Tuesdays (yes, I know it’s Saturday, but Tuesday was crrraazzzyyy!), where I spend some time researching how Twitter works, and how people are using it.

I figured out just by clicking on it a few times how a hastag works, but was not sure what good it was.  It seemed just random to me.  Then I saw a tweet about it that led me to the blogs above which make me realize it’s a more helpful tool than I thought it might be.  So for today, #amwriting 

Thanks @webprgirl and @johannaharness.

The Questions and Comments:

