Twitter Branding

Posted: June 6, 2011 in Marketing, Self Publishing, Small Presses, Social Media, Traditional Publishing
Tags:

This is a little trick I learned from my friends here at the Indie Book Collective. #whoImetonTwitter

Find the three words that represent what you want people to know about your work. Then make those words sing for you in each tweet.

via Twitter Branding « Indie Book Collective.

Kimberly Kinrade started out as a Twitter novice like me but now seems to know her stuff.  If she can do it, I can, too.  Right?

I like her idea quoted above.  So what are the three words I would use to brand myself and my work?

  1. Suspense – My novel Painted Black is a suspense novel, as is the series it kicks off.  Even the short stories I have had published have a suspenseful  element.  All good fiction has some conflict that causes tension (aka suspense).
  2. Homelessness – The novel and many of my stories highlight the homeless condition.  My history of volunteering with organizations that serve the streets has given me an appreciation for the people who live there and those who work to better their condition.
  3. Chicago  – Moving to Chicago made a big difference in my life.  It opened my eyes to a wider world.  When I set a story or book in Chicago, I feel like that city is more than just the setting.  It is a living, breathing character as well.

These three words are not as bright and cheerful as those that Kimberly chose (magic, love and chocolate) but this is what I write about, what I enjoy reading.  I’m betting there are others out there who feel the same.

Comments
  1. Jackie says:

    I like your words…very creative. Still thinking of mine. Seriously didn’t think it would take this long.

    • Deb Borys says:

      Thanks, Jackie. Now to get them out there and see if they actually work. I picked them rather quickly–I hope I don’t wake up in the morning thinking of three words I like better. 🙂

The Questions and Comments:

