Never Make Comparisons

Posted: May 31, 2011 in Marketing, Self Publishing, Social Media
Tags: ,

I was browsing the forums at AgentQuery Connect, an online community for writers, and someone posted how they have self e-pubbed their fantasy novel using the same venues I did (Amazon, Nook, etc.).  They actually wanted to post the book for free, and they did that everywhere except Amazon which won’t let you offer your books for free.  Her (or should that be his, I forget now) idea was to generate a buzz since the book she posted is the first of a trilogy.  She figures if they like the first book they will be eager to buy the next two.

Naturally, in places where the book was available for free, many people downloaded it.  But there was a surprising number that paid .99 to download it from Amazon US.  Over 300 if I remember correctly.  And that all seems to have happened without the author doing much marketing.

I know it’s a bit like apples to oranges if I compare the lackadaisical sales of my short stories to this novel, but it does make me feel like I need to do more to get the word out.  I will be patient.  I will work hard.  I will believe.

The Questions and Comments:

