Self Promotion: Step 1

Posted: May 28, 2011 in Marketing, Social Media
Tags: ,

Deb Borys – Viewing Profile – AgentQuery Connect.

One piece of advice that makes sense to follow is to join discussion groups of people who are interested in topics related to your book or your blog.  Since this blog is about self-publishing, one type of group that might be interested in reading my posts are other writers.  Luckily, I already have access to a number of discussion groups that are writing-related.  It’s been a while since I’ve been able to spend much time on them, but with my new part-time status, I will be able to renew my acquaintance with these sites.

One thing I worry about, though, is that people will think my participation is insincere–that I am there only to toot my own horn.  That’s something I struggle with even when I update Facebook and Twitter with my blog posts.  It’s a dichotomy:  I want to toot my own horn, but because of what people might think I don’t want to toot my own horn.

Blatant Self Promotion has never been a concept I’m comfortable with, but how will I be seen or heard if I don’t engage in it to some degree?  I can only hope that the sincerity of my interest in what I am blogging about and what the discussion forums are about can serve as proof that I am not just an advertisement for myself.

So the first group I have reactivated in my daily routine is to update my profile on Agent Query Connect which is a community associated with Agent Query, an excellent source if you are looking for Agents to represent your novel.  I look forward to renewed discussion with people in the writing community.  Inspiration, I am ready and waiting.

The Questions and Comments:

