Good Points

Posted: January 16, 2011 in Self Publishing
Tags:

There’s a lot of advice out there on the dos and dont’s.  A lot of them repeat the same things, most of which can be summarized in some bullet points I found on the two sites below.

How to Self Publish an Ebook http://reviews.cnet.com/how-to-self-publish-an-e-book

Points out some common sense things to start with:

  • Write a good book.  It won’t sell if it sucks.
    • Me:  Well, duh!
  • Design an eye-catching cover that will look good in small avatar format.
    • I think I’ve got a good cover–what do you guys think?  See below.
  • Price the book at less than $4.99.  He mentions that Amazon offers a higher royalty for books under $9.99.
    • I wonder where he’s selling his ebooks?  So far on Kindle and Kobo the books I’ve seen are 7.99 and more.  I’ve seen ebooks over $20.  I don’t even like paying $20 for a hardcover book but will wait till it comes out in paperback.
  • Don’t use a service that won’t let you set the price.
    • So far every service I’m considering does exactly that.
  • Market your book–however you’re going to do it, social networking, ads, whatever works for you, but something to call it to people’s attention.
    • This might be where I run into trouble.  When I tried to start my own writing business years ago, the main reason it didn’t make it is because I didn’t try hard enough.

—–

What is E-Publishing?http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-e-publishing.htm

Advantages:

  • Costs less money to publish
  • Takes less time to get your book out there
  • Writer has more say in the end product
  • Updates can be added to the published book easily and quickly
  • Will stay on the “shelves” for a much longer period of time (Hard cover books get pulled from a bookstores if/when they are not bringing in enough sales.)
  • Electronic books have an ISBN number which supposedly, according to this site, means you can walk into a bookstore and order an electronic version of your book.  This sounds like it needs more research on my part.
  • Writers get a higher percentage of royalties.
  • Writers normally maintain all other rights to the book, such as the option to publish print books later.

Disadvantages:

  • Ebooks sell fewer copies since a lot of people aren’t aware of e-publishing or prefer to read a printed book.  500 copies could be considered a successful ebook.
    • Counter argument from me: On the other hand, even only selling 20 copies is more than I will sell if my book doesn’t get published at all in any form.
  • The author is responsible for their own marketing.  No big marketing department or budge to set up ads, reviews or tv interviews.
    • See  myconcern above.  Marketing in NOT going to be my strong suite.  On the other hand, it’s not like I’m dying to have a tv interview.
  • Ebooks don’t currently get the same respect as printed books.  There are no high standards being set and met.
    • This is very true, but there is hope that this could change as more epublishing happens.
  • Writers don’t get an advance.
    • Since they get better returns, maybe this is a wash.
  • An ebook is easier to pirate than a printed book.
    • I should be lucky enough to write a book good enough for someone to think it’s worth pirating!
Comments
  1. Mara says:

    Oh my gosh! Is this the story you were talking about Deb? You know years ago when I still lived in the luscious Emerald City? I love the synopsis. Can’t wait to read it. Good luck with it. 🙂

    • dborys says:

      Yes, this is probably the book you’re thinking about. Or I might have been talking about the new book in the series, Bend Me, Shape Me. It also features Jo Sullivan, but a new set of problems and new view of the Chicago streets. That one I’m only about five chapters into and going slow.

The Questions and Comments:

