KISS (Keep it Simple, Silly)

Posted: January 9, 2011 in Self Publishing
Tags:

So much of what I’ve found online about self publishing involves producing actual books, which makes me wonder if maybe my e-dream is unrealistic.  On the other hand, many of those book publishing opportunities also sound like they could be scams, or if not scams, like they’re trying to “sell” me on something, which I don’t like.  Kind of like buying a car for me.  Try to sell me on a car and you’re going to turn me off.  Offer me the kind of car I want for less money than anyone else, and I’ll take it.

I did come across a few sites that had helpful e-publishing advice and information and was actually easy to navigate also.  Ever notice how some sites are so full of “stuff” you go into info overload and can’t even figure out what their purpose is?

Here’s the first one I found that made sense,..

Forner Books.com – http://www.fonerbooks.com/selfpublishing/

It didn’t take much time on this site for me to come across Morris Rosenthal’s very simple recommendation:  publish with Amazon,  Barnes and Noble, and directly to the reader.

The reasons, he says, are:

  1. Amazon makes it simple for authors to publish their own Kindle ebooks and is the largest seller and marketing platform for ebooks.  The more ebooks you sell on Amazon, the more visible you become.  He says Amazon has a majority market share large enough to get your work noticed. When (if) there is a clamor for more formats to become available, then you can expand your options.
  1. Barnes&Noble works directly with authors for their PubIt Services.  PubIt looks like a really easy upload on their site which transforms your work into an ebook and offers it for sale in  ePub format which is the most commonly used format for ebooks (at least today, who knows which format will shake out as dominant once the dust settles.)
  1. Selling ebooks direct is as simple a paying $5/month to a download service like eJunkie. Then you can sell ebooks directly from your own website using a third party payment system like PayPal.

Expanding beyond these three options can be counterproductive, Rosenthal says.  Give your ebook several months on Kindle and Nook and see if it gets noticed.  If no interest is generated, then there’s not much point wasting your energy elsewhere.  Spend your time coming up with a better book instead.

These three options are definitely going on my “Options to Explore” list.  Plan on seeing blog postings exploring details about how each of these work.  When I’m finally ready to get into indepth research, that is.

As Rosenthal mentions, self publishing options have moved from paying for bound books sold by direct mail order, to using desktop publishing to produce offset printed books and selling them directly to Amazon, to selling print-on-demand (POD) books and ebooks through Ingram distribution and Amazon, to ebooks sold through directly through your own website and on Amazon Kindle.  This statement alone makes me optimistic about my potential plan to produce ebooks only.

The Questions and Comments:

